To Merge Columns in a CSV File
Step 1: Open your file with a dedicated CSV Editor - Rons Data Edit
Your CSV file can be opened using the 'Open Document' File menu, or 'Open Document' link on the Start Page of the application.
Step 2: Open the 'Column Merge' Tool
In the ribbon bar, at the top of the main window, go to the 'Columns' tab, and click on the 'Column Tools' button. This action opens the 'Column Tool' pannel. From the available tools displayed, select 'Merge Columns'.
Step 3: Set the appropriate 'Merge Columns' options
See below for the listing of the settings and their explanation.
Step 4: Apply the changes
Click the 'Merge Columns' button to apply the changes.
Note: Any action can easily be reverted by clicking on the 'Undo' button on the menu on the top left corner of the main window.
Step 5: Save the File
When satisfied with the changes, make sure to save the document by clicking on the 'Save' button the top left corner of the main window or by clicking the 'Save' button on the 'Home' tab of the ribbon bar.
The Merge Columns Tool Settings
|Several tools are displayed. 'Merge Columns' should be selected.
|In the 'Source Colums' section all the columns of the document are listed and can be easily selected and transfered by clicking on the arrows to the next section ('Selected Columns').
The 'Selected Columns' section displays the columns that are going to be merged together. The two Up and Down arrows on the left side allow to move the columns and give accordingly the proper merging order of the data.
If checked, type the desired separator in the field (For example a comma, a space, a dash etc.) between the two merged columns data.
If checked a Tabular space will separate the data of the two merged columns.
If checked the data of the two merged columns will show on two different lines. Note that under the 'Single Line' viewing mode only one line will be displayed but the blue font colour indicates that there are more lines in the cell. To be able to see all the lines change the View mode to 'Multi Line' under the View tab in the ribbon bar.
Delete source columns after merge
If checked the columns that were selected to merge will be automatically deleted and only the merged column will show.
If checked a new separate column will be created with the merged information. This new column can be (re)named just below this option in the dedicated field or left as is with <New Column> as the header name.
If checked and if one of the existing column is selected from the drop down menu just below this option, the merged data will overwrite the data of that selected column.